Refreshingly Biblical

Join us at 10:30am every Sunday

We believe that the ministry is a team sport involving the entire church rather than a select few do (Eph 4:10-12). We are all servants working together. Emmanuel is governed by elder-led congregationalism; a congregational polity that is led by pastors who are assisted by deacons and affirmed by the congregation.

Biblical Offices


  •  Pastor – EBC is currently prayerfully seeking the next lead pastor of Emmanuel. If you are interested or have questions please contact the church office and ask how to inquire with the pulpit committee.

Deacon Fellowship

Deacons are servant leaders in the church that exhibit the fruit of the Gospel in their lives (1 Timothy 3). They serve the body in facilitating the physical and benevolence needs of the church. Their role can be described as “shock absorbers” and “servants.” Deacons in the New Testament ensure that the physical needs of the membership are met (Acts 6).  They assist the pastors on visitation and in distributing the elements of the Lord’s Supper. We see the New Testament role of deacons begins with benevolence needs (Acts 6) and ends with any other roles that assist the pastor(s) in the ministry. Deacons may function (but are not limited to), depending on their gifting/abilities, as spiritual advisors, in the areas of finance, ushering, building and grounds, greeting, committees, and administration. Our deacons serve for 3-year terms elected by the congregation.

  • Bart Hunking (3)
  • Richard Cross (3

Officers & Committee Members

The functionality of the church is facilitated by a combination of ministry teams, committees, and elected officers. These are the current officers at Emmanuel. See the church constitution for details about terms, etc.

Building & Grounds Committee: Tim Sharp – Trustee (1), Richard Cross – Deacon,  Hank Means – Deacon, Reece Karge

Financial Offers: Libby Cawthorn – Treasurer, Carol Koslak – Assistant Treasurer

Mission Committee: Mike Davis, Loretta Lynch, Carol Cork, Carol Koslak (Missions Treasurer)

ECS Board: TBD (Principal), Tammy Marple (Treasurer), Lawanta Vecchio (Secretary), Jayson Byrd (Chair), TBD (Deacon Rep)

Church Clerk: Tammy Marple

Children’s Sunday School Superintendent: vacant

Moderator Pro-Tem: Richard Cross

Ministry Team

In order to fulfill our mission and serve the body well, other staff positions have been created to allow some to serve in ministry vocationally. (Church staff listed below, School staff here)

Rev. C. Richard Phelps

Rev. C. Richard Phelps began his ministry at Emmanuel in 1975 and continued through 1988. During Pastor Phelps’ ministry, the membership at Emmanuel grew in depth and number. the physical property was enlarged by adding two major building programs. Pastor Phelps was known for his propositional in-depth Bible teaching which is a legacy and foundation…